Target's solo seat cowl

Moderators: Site Director, FZR Forum Moderators

Target30
Level 7.5
Level 7.5

Target's solo seat cowl

Post by Target30 »

I was going to keep this a secret, well, tom(tomgun) and brian(nhfzr600) knew about it because they were there when i found the cowl at MOM's(Motorcycles of Manchester) after our run last weekend. But i figured what the hell, why not post it up here so you guys can see how most of the parts of the 4/6WTF were made! So here it is, from the start, almost, to the end. This is my first ever attempt at fiberglassing, so bear with me, and anyone who has any input, please feel free to chime in. I have read a bunch online, and picked Rockthis's brain in the chat.

I didnt go out and buy all of the expensive fiberglassing stuff, and will probably pay for it in the end, but i wanted to do this pretty inexpensively, as it is my first time, and I figured i would screw it up anyhow. so here goes...

Here is what i started with:

2003 zx6r solo seat cowl
woven fiberglass matt
bondo fiberglass resin
cheap paint brushes
carnuba car wax, paste

I didnt get a picture of the original layup, because i suck, so deal with it! bonkonhead

I waxed the crap out of the original cowl, only after laying the glass on it, i realized i needed a mold release agent :duh: , rockthis suggested Vaseline as a cheaper alternative to the actual stuff you can buy from fiberglass places, so i will try that on the part i make from this mold.

here is the trimmed piece, still wrapped around the part:

this is alot cleaner than what it looked like before, with the overhang of the fiberglass mat.

I was lucky and apparantly put enough wax on the part (about 10 coats!) to allow the fiberglass to release from it. ClapHands