94 FZR600 starting issues please help!

FZR600 Forum

Moderators: Site Director, FZR Forum Moderators

BigStupidFingers
Site Newbie

94 FZR600 starting issues please help!

Post by BigStupidFingers »

This is my first time on the site and my bike has me up against a wall. Here is what I have done thus far...

Last fall my bike was having issues charging. I put a new a battery in my bike and road for a few months. Then I noticed that my headlights would dim when I hit the breaks or engaged something else that would use the battery system. A day later I could pop start the motor only then after a day or two of that, no more pop starting. I was guessing that since the battery wouldn't charge that I needed to replace my stator. So today I replaced my stator. I had my battery on trickle charge popped it in and it would turn over but would not start. Headlights would dim when I would try to start it... what is my next step? All I know... is I hate electrical issues because that is what I know the least about. Should I pop the charged battery in while using jumper cables to give it a boost?

Thanks! IKE
M in KC
Level 2.0
Level 2.0

Re: 94 FZR600 starting issues please help!

Post by M in KC »

Start with a fully charged, known good battery. You will need a volt ohm meter (VOM) then follow the flow charts/wiring diagrams here http://www.fzrarchives.com/ipb/index.ph ... opic=22733
AimCOTaco
Site Newbie

Post by AimCOTaco »

Ike, definitly sounds like you're not charging. Changing the stator may or may not help.

It also sounds like your battery is not fully charged. With a fully charged battery it should crank like crazy. As stated, start with a fully charged known good battery and check voltages.