Yamaha Genesis FZR600 1989 to Streetfighter?

For the bad boyz, here a little arena for you to get fightin'!

Moderators: Site Director, FZR Forum Moderators

conscriptboris
Site Newbie

Yamaha Genesis FZR600 1989 to Streetfighter?

Post by conscriptboris »

Hi all,

Firstly, Hi, I have been reading up on the very handy wikis and How-Tos on your site, they have been very helpful, and don't worry, I wont ask what the widest rear tyre I can put on a stock FZR600 is :)

My Project is slow burn, working under three factors:

1) Time available outside of Career/Family Life
2) Amount of Cash I can smuggle from the Joint account :D
3) My ability as a complete noob who has, until this point, only read books on how this shit goes down.

So, my bike:

My Intent, to strip the bike down, almost completely. Replace worn parts/usual suspects (currently developing a list from this site), and give the engine a good clean/service, then rebuild. I want to repaint the engine block and frames matt blank and look at the carbon fibre vinyl for tank and rear seat.

I would love to install a single sided swing arm, but I have no experience in tis area at all. Can anyone link me into a discussion ref a FZR 89 single sided swing arm, or advise if it can be done?

As for electronics I am currently looking at this http://www.digital-speedos.co.uk/rx1n-m ... -702-p.asp

So, I hope to get the engine out and cleaned this Xmas hol. then 2014 looks to be the re-build as the cash is available!

If anyone can help me on two points I am currently trying to consider:

- Can I install a single sided swing arm on the bike, any advice?

- Im looking at a streetfighter 'ethos', anyone know of pre made seats that can be 'bastardised', or are they generally welded from scratch?

Regards,

Elvis
thatkid
2000+ Posts
2000+ Posts

Re: Yamaha Genesis FZR600 1989 to Streetfighter?

Post by thatkid »

A few things I would say.