87 fzr1000 reading 8 volts from fuel pump relay?

Moderators: Site Director, FZR Forum Moderators

nikko
Site Newbie

87 fzr1000 reading 8 volts from fuel pump relay?

Post by nikko »

Hello gentlemen. Newbie here. Tried search but to no avail. A little history. Was given generously given non running bike. Replaced a faulty cdi box. Bike ran and rode a few months. Now no good. Replaced fuel pump and getting 8volts from relay. I'm wondering if there is a ground fix out there or where to start looking for problems. Thank you for your time.
DonTZ125

Re: 87 fzr1000 reading 8 volts from fuel pump relay?

Post by DonTZ125 »

Unplug the relay.
Unplug the fuel pump.
Key and kill switch ON, engine off.
Measure the voltage across the battery terminals.
Measure the voltage from the Red/White wires (they're connected) at the relay plug to battery -ve.
Key OFF.
Measure the resistance across the bLue/Black wire from the relay to the fuel pump.
Measure the resistance across the Black wire from the fuel pump to the battery -ve.
Measure the resistance across the fuel pump.
Reconnect the relay and pump.
nikko
Site Newbie

Post by nikko »

Thank you DonTZ125. I did what you suggested. these are the results from what i understand.
unplugged relay and fuel pump. key and kill switch ON.
Voltage across battery terminal ...12.02V
Voltage from RED/WHITE white at relay to battery negative ...8.8V
Key OFF
Resistance of BLUE/BLACK wire from relay to fuel pump ... 0.3 ohms
Resistance of BLACK wire from fuel pump to battery negative ...0.2 ohms
Resistance across fuel pump ... 1.6 ohms
I do not know what these numbers are telling me but i thank you for your time. i am curious if my CDI box is bad again?
DonTZ125

Post by DonTZ125 »

Ok, it's not the pump, the wiring downstream of the relay, or the battery. The relay itself should be fine, and the TCI (*not* CDI - very different device) has nothing to do with it.